Long tradition at the Zechnerhof

The story of the Zechnerhof dates back to the 17th century. The property used to be a collection place for the tithe („Zeche“), a contribution the farmers had to pay their liege lords – hence the name Zechnerhof. For generations, the farm had been cultivated and passed down from one generation to the next, until in 1942 the buildings burnt down. After its reconstruction, the farm was revitalized and the Glanzer family eventually rebuilt and modernized the farmyard in 1999.

After the great fire, the reconstruction and the end of the war, Elisabeth Krobath, Karin’s grandmother, opened the farm for guests, offering city-dwellers a place where they could rest, relax and recharge.


1999 – Rebuilding and modernisation conducted by the Glanzer family

2002 – Opening of the on-site driving range

2006 – Opening of the golf course next to the Zechnerhof, which is run by the Golf Club Murau-Kreischberg

2014 – Demolition of a tool shed and new construction of a multi-purpose building, comprising the apartment “Auszeit”, a conference room and a playroom


At the Zechnerhof the agricultural area (woods and fields) totals around 70 hectare. The garden and the sunbathing lawn by themselves have a combined surface area of 3000 m2


A farm without animals is not a farm. On our farm, children as well as adults can easily make friends with animals, ride on the back of a Haflinger horse, experience a ride in a carriage drawn by Shetland ponies through St. Georgen am Kreischberg, or pet the cats and bunnies.

4 Haflinger horses – Amigo, Falke, Rocky, Stone

2 Hucul ponies – Oskar, Levi

2 Shetland ponies – Sarah, Flecki

1 female donkey – Karla

1 pot-bellied pig – Borsti

2 Lamas – Bonny und Clyde

2 sheep

5 goats

many bunnies – some cats

2 tortoises – Franklin and Big Daddy

8 domestic pigs during the winter months

Lange Tradition am Zechnerhof

Die Geschichte unseres Hofes reicht bis ins 17. Jahrhundert zurück. Das Anwesen war damals eine Sammelstelle für die „Zeche“, die die Bauern den Lehensherren bezahlen mussten, daher auch der Name Zechnerhof. Über Generationen wurde der Hof bewirtschaftet und weitervererbt, bis die Gebäude im Jahre 1942 abbrannten. Nach dem Wiederaufbau konnte die Bewirtschaftung des Bauernhofes wieder aufgenommen werden, bis schließlich 1999 die Familie Glanzer den Hof großteils umbaute und modernisierte.

Nach dem großen Brand, dem Wiederaufbau und dem Ende des Krieges führte Karins Oma Elisabeth Krobath den Hof schon als Pension, um Erholungssuchenden einen entspannten Sommer in ländlicher Atmosphäre bieten zu können. Damals wie heute ist der Zechnerhof ein Ort der Ruhe, Entspannung und ein Platz um seine Akkus wieder aufladen zu können.


1999 – Umbau und Modernisierung durch die Familie Glanzer

2002 – Eröffnung der hauseigenen Driving Range

2006 – Eröffnung des Golfplatzes, geführt durch den GC Murau-Kreischberg, direkt neben dem Zechnerhof

2014 – Abriss der Wagenhütte und Neubau des Mehrzweckhauses mit der Wohnung Auszeit, einem Seminarraum und einem Spielraum


Die landwirtschaftliche Nutzfläche (Wald und Felder) des Zechnerhofes beträgt rund 70 Hektar. Alleine der Garten und die Liegefläche haben eine Fläche von ca. 10.000m2


Ein Hof ohne Tiere ist kein Bauernhof. Die Kinder, aber natürlich auch die Erwachsenen können in ihrer Zeit am Hof wahrhaft tierische Freundschaften schließen, sich auf den Rücken eines Haflingers begeben, sich von den Shetlandponies in der Kutsche durch St. Georgen am Kreischberg ziehen lassen oder die Katzen und Hasen streicheln.

4 Haflinger – Amigo, Falke, Rocky, Stone

2 Huzulen – Oskar, Levi

2 Shetlandponies – Sarah, Flecki

1 Eselstute – Karla

1 Hängebauchschwein – Borsti

2 Lamas – Bonny und Clyde

2 Schafe

5 Ziegen

viele Hasen, einige Katzen

2 Schildkröten – Franklin und Big Daddy

8 Hausschweine über die Wintermonate